Friday, May 20, 2016

CPM names Pinarayi Vijayan as CM of Kerala

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The CPM Friday chose politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan as the 22nd chief minister of Kerala.

CPI (M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury had already arrived for the meeting of the part's state committee and his predecessor Prakash Karat also joined the meeting to decide who will lead the state for the next five years.

Pinarayi, 72, obtained a brute majority in the state committee.

However, 92-year-old V S Achuthanandan was the star campaigner for the party and largely instrumental for its massive win of 91 seats in the 140-member assembly.

Much of VS’ first tenure as chief minister (2006-11) witnessed an embarrassing face-off between the two leaders.

No comments: