Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Left Front sweeps police association election

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The LDF has swept the police officers association election, the lone organisation of officers from assistant sub inspector levels to circle inspector.  Left candidates did not have any opponents in 28 police districts. Meantime, the selection of grade ASI C R Biju, an accused in corruption case, as the association’s general secretary has led to protests in the force. Circle inspector D K Prithviraj of Thampanoor station is the president.   

The office bearers of the organisation were decided at the meet led by CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan at the AKG Centre last week. This decision was approved at the polls held in the police training college today. 11 representatives each from 28 police districts voted at the organisational polls. V Shaji (SI, Thiruvananthapuram rural), K P Bhaskaran (SI, Kozhikode rural) and K G Prakash Kumar (ASI, Kannur) are the vice presidents.

R Prashanth (SI, Thiruvananthapuram Devaswom Vigilance), Premji K Nair (ASI, Kottayam), P Babu (ASI, KAP 4) are joint secretaries and KS Ouseph (ASI, Idukki) is the treasurer.

No comments: