Wednesday, October 14, 2015

HC upholds formation of 28 municipalities

KOCHI: A division bench of the Kerala High Court Wednesday upheld the verdict of the single bench on the formation of 28 new municipalities. The division bench passed the order dismissing the appeals filed against the single bench verdict. Single bench judge A V Ramakrishna Pillai had earlier upheld the formation of Mananthavady, Mukkam, Koduvally and Panur Municipalities. The appeals were filed questioning it.

The government elevated Mananthavady in Wayanad, Mukkam and Koduvally in Kozhikode and Panur in Kannur to municipalities. The division bench also approved single bench’s order elevating to municipalities the areas which were grama panchayats earlier subject to the Kerala Municipal Act. The Panur Municipality was formed adding Panur, Peringalam and Kariyad grama panchayats.

The high court has also upheld the formation of Kannur Corporation. The Kannur Corporation is formed by adding Pallikkunnu grama panchayat, Puzhathi grama panchayat, Edakkad grama panchayat, Elayavur grama panchayat and Chelora grama panchayat. 

No comments: