Monday, October 12, 2015

Murder accused CPM leaders file nominations

KANNUR: CPI (M) leaders Karayi Rajan and Karayi Chandrasekharan, who are accused in the murder of NDF activist Muhammed Fazal of Thalassery, have filed their nominations to contest in the election for district panchayat and Thalassery Municipality respectively. Meanwhile, CPI (M) District Secretary P Jayarajan told news persons that the party cannot field CPI (M) local leaders C Prakashan and A Ramachandran of Kathrirur as the duo was accused in the murder case of RSS district functionary Manoj of Kathirur. Both of them had filed a plea before the Thalassery District Sessions Court on October 10 for permission to file nominations. Controversy was erupting after they approached the court. Following this, both decided to withdraw the plea. Now both the accused are in Ernakulam on bail with condition not to enter Kannur. Karayi Rajan (56) filed three sets of nominations before the District Collector P Balakiran. He would contest in the District Panchayat from Pattyam Division, a CPI (M) stronghold while Karayi Chandrasekharan also filed nominations for contesting Chellath Ward in Thalassery Municipality. He filed the nomination before the Thalassery Municipal secretary this morning. Both of them were given Special CBI Court's permission on October 9 after appealed to visit Kannur for five days and return back on October 13 to Ernakulam. Both have been released on bail with conditions that they should not leave Ernakulam. Following the orders by the court, they reached Thalassery last evening and carried out elections work at their respective wards on Sunday and today morning. Karayi Rajan (56), was the district committee member and Thalassery Area Secretary and Former DYFI District President. Both of them were lodged for about two years in jail for the murder of Muhammed Fazal. Meanwhile, Karayi Rajan said they would approach the CBI Court soon for getting permission to address the election campaign. "I am sure that the people of Pattyam would accept me as the candidate and vote the party to a winning streak", said Karayi Rajan after filing the nominations at District Collectorate. CPI (M) Leaders P Jayarajan, M V Jayarajan, K P Sahadevan also accompanied him. DYFI State vice president P P Divya also filed the nominations from Kadanappally division before the District collector.

No comments: