Monday, October 12, 2015

Congress to Contest in 79 Wards in Corporation

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:The United Democratic Front (UDF) on Sunday finalised its seat sharing exercise, and Congress, the main constituent, will contest in 79 wards to the Thiruvananthapuram Corporation in the upcoming local body elections.

The UDF has allotted five seats each to IUML and RSP, four seats to Janata Dal (U), three each to Kerala Congress (M) and CMP, while Kerala Congress (J) gets one seat.

The District Congress Committee also released the list of 50 candidates of the 79, a majority of them new faces. The candidates for the District Panchayat seats will be announced on Monday, said DCC president Karakulam Krishna Pillai.

Former MLA George Mercier, sitting councillors Jonson Joseph, K Maheshwaran Nair, Block Committee presidents Kaimanom Prabhakaran and Mannamoola Rajan are main candidates who will contest to the Thiruvananthapuram Corporation.

Five sitting women councillors of the Congress have also found a place in the list and the other women candidates will be new faces, Pillai said. He also said the final list would be released on Monday.

Noting that youth were given preference while preparing the list, Pillai said Youth parliamentary Constituency president Vinod Yesudas, Youth Congress State secretary N S Nusoor and Youth Congress Parliament Secretary Pratibha Jayakumar represented the youth brigade.

Youth Congress Takes out March

Youth Congress activists on Sunday staged a march to the residence of KPCC president V M Sudheeran in T’Puram alleging that the Youth Congress was sidelined in the selection of candidates for the local body elections in the state.

No comments: