Thursday, February 25, 2016

Winson M Paul is next chief information commissioner

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The state selection committee recommended to appoint former DGP Winson M Paul as the state’s next chief information commissioner. The decision was taken with the dissent note of opposition leader from the selection committee comprising Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and Minister P K Kunhalikutty. The panel also announced the names of five information commissioners. VS expressed his dissent pointing the selection is being conducted by the panel without evaluating the applications properly.

Angathil Jayakumar, P R Devadas, Joy C Chirayil, Abdul Salam and Eby Kuriakose are the commissioners. A total of 269 applications came for consideration. When the selection committee was convened the other day, VS demanded to shortlist the names. Following that, the public administration secretary was entrusted for it and on the basis of that, the committee met here again today.

Paul will replace Siby Mathews retiring on April 23. There are no media persons in the list.

No comments: