Saturday, March 12, 2016

CPM’s Palakkad candidates’ list skips VS

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Opposition leader V S Achuthanandan’s name is not figuring in the CPM’s list of Assembly election contestants for the Palakkad constituency.

In the VS’ usual constituency Malampuzha, CITU leader A Prabhakaran’s name has been recommended. In the list prepared by District Secretariat, what has been left vacant is Chittoor constituency.

In 2011 also VS’ name was skipped when candidates list was prepared and Prabhakaran’s name was included. Later the Central leadership intervened to give VS a seat.

There are hints that VS’ name was removed as there were whispers that VS would shift from Malampuzha to Alappuzha. Meanwhile, Pinarayi Vijayan will contest from Dharamdam.     

The probable list is being discussed by State secretariat held in Thiruvananthapuram.

No comments: