Sunday, November 29, 2015

FIR against six opposition MLAs

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: A FIR was submitted in the crime branch magistrate court arraigning six opposition MLAs in connection with the unruly scenes witnessed in the assembly on the day the then Finance Minister K M Mani  presented the budget.

Those arraigned are V Sivankutty, E P Jayarajan, K Ajith, C K Sadasivan, Kunhammed Master and K T Jaleel. The FIR stated that they destroyed public property worth Rs 2 lakh by occupying the Speaker's podium and destroying equipment and furniture.

The FIR was submitted a month before. However, the details were revealed only today. The FIR was registered after seeking the opinion of the law department. All the other members except C K Sadasivan was suspended in the incident during that session.  The suspension was cancelled soon after the assembly was adjourned sine die.

Mani couldn’t read the budget fully due to the logjam. V Sivankutty, K K Lathika had sustained injuries in the melee. Jameela Prakasham had alleged that she was insulted by K Sivadasan Nair.

No comments: